ethiopiantimes

August 11, 2011

Photojournalist haunted by documenting African famine

Filed under: Azeb Mesfin,Ethiopia,Meles Zenawi — ethiopiantimes @ 8:11 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Francesco Zizola, NOOR, writes:

In 2009, when reporting from Southern Ethiopia, I promised myself never to cover another famine. Bearing witness to the death of thousands of people, children for the most part, had worn me out. It’s hard to look at pictures like these, but for me they are especially hard to take.

There’s always the risk of falling into the stereotype of an African body – of a child in most cases – worn out by hardship and despair. In the Western countries we are aware of what is happening in Africa, but our souls of privileged citizens are hardly touched by these photographs. For me it’s different, I bring those images and that suffering inside of me for a long time afterwards. They haunt me at night. Read More>>>>

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

